Who has the time?

Hello, again! I hope all is going well for you and if it isn’t, I hope your life gets better. I hope you find a heads-up penny on the sidewalk. I hope the sun kissing your cheeks through the window pane brings you joy. I hope a friend brings a smile to your face.

As for me, don’t worry. All is well. Currently, I’m over here in my little corner of the world, listening to top hits of France 2017. (Shhh, don’t tell Québec. I’m practically cheating on her! Haha.) I haven’t made much time to listen to music lately. In fact, the activities that bring me pleasure–writing, drawing, singing, reading, cooking, yoga–have all but slipped through my fingers.

I haven’t been able to make time for all of the hobbies I enjoy. This isn’t recent. It’s been going on for a while.

I wanted to share with you something that I just discovered for myself.

So, yesterday, I decided to spend an hour and a half micromanaging every aspect of my life that I could think of and typing it into the “goals” on the Google calendar on my phone. Basically, you pick something, like meditation or chores and choose how many times a week you want that task and the duration of each and it generates times, which you can of course edit. It’s very useful for a highly disorganized person like me.

The only feature I thought it lacked was the ability to put two tasks in the same time slot. For instance, I couldn’t put something in the same slot as laundry, which takes forever. Instead, I wrote “Blog” for 15 minutes right before “Laundry” for 2 hours. Then I multitasked.

I gotta say, I had the most productive day of my life today. I know, it’s simple. It’s not a huge secret. *Gasp* Making a schedule can make you productive? I have seen this advice for ever. Hell, I’ve even tried it…in a paper agenda. The phone giving me reminders to switch tasks really helped push me to actually keep up with the goals.

It’s even pushed me to finally start a blog. I did chores, grocery shopped, meditated, wrote a couple pages of my book, stretched, cooked, and more.

(Oh, Céline Dion’s Les Yeux Au Ciel is playing! Looks like Québec is with me after all.)

I hit a couple snags but mostly stayed true to the schedule today. I learned that I needed to be flexible, like multitasking at times. Now, I just gotta keep it up.

Here’s the highlight of my day (of course, it involves food).

2017-07-22_19.52.24.jpg

Now, I may have mentioned already but I am newly vegan. I’m starving by the way, just in case you were wondering.

My fiancé made me watch the What the Health documentary on Netflix. Ever since, he’s been fine; on the contrary, it messed with my head. Not gonna lie, I’ve cheated a few times just like I have with most diets I’ve been on. I am trying to adjust to this huge lifestyle change. Not only did I cut out dairy and meat, but also gluten. Ne me juge pas if I cheat sometimes. I’m trying!

I don’t know if there is a better way to do this. I spent way too much at the grocery store–nearly a hundred bucks. That is most of my measly earnings! Good thing I love food. Next week, I’m going to try out the farmer’s market. So, stay tuned for that.

As for today, I made this.

 

After I use the rest of this fakey cheese, I doubt I’ll buy it again. Not that it wasn’t halfway decent. I mean, it wasn’t cheese but it wasn’t inedible either. But look at the ingredients! Yuck. The stuffed pepper was delish though. I put precooked brown rice and uncooked onions in it then baked it on 375°F for 45 minutes. I would def caramelize the onions first next time.

Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked. The moral of the story is to try out a schedule. Have you tried making a schedule for yourself? What medium did you use to create it? Any tips? I would love to hear from you in the comments.

Much love.

xoxo Kris

P.S. I stumbled upon something today at Kroger that makes me wish I was home in Québec with my garden.

IMG_20170722_162833391_HDR.jpg

One Reply to “Who has the time?”

Leave a Reply

