Bite-sized Goals for People Who Procrastinate

Hello, again. How is everyone doing? 😊

So, for this entry, I decided to talk about goals. It’s interesting that I picked this particular subject to write about today because a certain toddler has made it very difficult for me to achieve my goals for the day. And it’s not even lunchtime yet! 

I just tried to meditate and she picked that moment to burst out of the room and would not leave me alone. I even put on fairytales in French to distract her for a bit. Even now, I’ve been trying to write for fifteen minutes and this is as far as I’ve gotten because she’s asked me for juice, picked up my tin whistle and started playing it loudly (effectively distracting me), had technical difficulties with the TV, and sat next to me playing the ask-mommy-a-million-questions game.

Accomplishing your daily goals is hard enough as it is. Add a child to the mix and it becomes increasingly more difficult. As a parent, you tend to nap while they nap so that means you take care of everything after they fall asleep or you try to get it done while they’re awake. 

That is not what I came here to discuss today but that’s what it’s turned into. 🤣 Let me get try to get back on track. Lest a toddler starts acting up again. 

Goals is the mission here today. For instance, I’ve scheduled thirty minutes each day to write a blog post (though after this fiasco, forty-five minute blocks might work out better). I’ve set aside time to do something that I love and get it accomplished. I scheduled it on my calendar and set a reminder. This is the first post. (Sound familiar? This is an extension of this post.)

If you’re like me, you tell yourself, “Oh, I’m going to do that tomorrow,” then you choose not to mark it in your calendar. You just assume you’re going to find the time to do it at some point in your day. That’s just setting yourself up for failure. However, if you can get something accomplished without doing that, good for you. I’m jealous of your mad skills but this post is not for you. 😅

This is for the people that procrastinate and push important tasks to the back of their minds and, as a result, never get anything accomplished or get it done last minute while stressing out to the extreme. 

This can be applied to anything in life. You can find time for every aspect of your day on your calendar so that you are certain that you have the time for it. That way, your goals don’t get lost after telling yourself that you’ll do them at some point during the day, then instead end up binge-watching Netflix for seven hours straight and hating yourself for not getting anything done. 

The next step is actually doing it. Don’t click “later” on the task. Do it. If you keep postponing then you will never actually get anything done.

This relates to my life on so many levels. I’ve been writing a fantasy trilogy for a nearly a decade now. I’ve gotten more accomplished consecutively this year than I have since every other year since 2008. That’s because of this next hint and the reason for the title: bite-sized goals.

I write two pages a day. That is it. For years, I have been expecting too much out of myself. I kept thinking about how I needed to just get it done, year after year of writing. I should have been farther. The task of finishing my books was so daunting that I’d push it away and make less and less progress. The most important aspect of this that I have discovered it to just do it. Do it slowly if you have to. I write two pages a day. That sounds like nothing yet I’ve made so much progress. The bigger picture was overwhelming so I decided to break it down and get it done one step at a time.

In Aesop’s fables, the tortoise beat the hare in the race by making steady progress when the all the rabbit could think about was how much faster he was than the tortoise. He ended up losing because he thought he was hot stuff and could just hurry his way through the race course. You don’t need to rush through your goals, whatever they may be. If you make steady progress, then at least you are making progress. Eventually, you will reach the finish line.

If I can take the time to write with a three-year-old old pestering me the whole time, then you can surely do it! 😂 Whatever it is that you’re trying to accomplish can be broken down into parts. Do a little bit each day and don’t give up. The finished product will be worth it. I believe in you.

And you? What do you think? Do you have any methods, any tips, for completing tasks? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

xoxo Kristen

Leave a Reply

