Live for Today

What is today?

Today is pouring a half-full cup of coffee down the drain in order to go help out a friend who needed a lift.

Today is wishing I could get stuck at a red light so I could watch a weasel playing in the grass.

Today is peach juice dripping down my daughter’s chin.

Today is vegetables sizzling in the frying pan. 

Today is eating lunch with my daughter.

Today is laying whiny children down for a nap. It’s receiving bad news. Its holding my breath for a certain day looming ahead in the near future. It’s cheating on my diet. 

Today is watching twilight through the window of my temporary apartment.

Today is my listening to my daughter whine and moan as I brush the tangles from her hair and it’s her laughter as I read her a bed time story. It’s both spatting with and receiving love and support from my fiancé, Guillaume. It’s taking bits of my day, all day to write my post and it’s finishing the day by writing by candlelight.

It’s the good and the bad. The joy and the sorrow. It’s letting yourself feel all of the emotions pouring in, processing them, and dealing with them in a healthy manner. Letting go of any trauma or negativity after coming to terms with it. Holding onto toxicity is draining and can manifest itself as physical pain in the body. Headaches, tension, fatigue. 

We have to remember to take the time out of busy lives. Pause. Identify our emotions and the source behind them. Acknowledge them and wave the negativity goodbye as it passes along on its way out of our lives. Embrace the warmth of the happy memories. Grow from each experience.

It is so easy to get caught up in the whirlwind of life without pausing to enjoy the present moment. If you let days pass you by, soon your entire life will have passed you by. While it’s important to have goals for the future, you can’t live in it. Nor can you live in the past.

What is today to you? How do you enjoy today? Do you struggle with letting go of the negativity in your life? Do you have any tips to help others with letting it go? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

See you next time! 

xoxo Kris

2 Replies to “Live for Today”

Leave a Reply

